Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Trapper Owner Association
  News:
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
1st season of TS240 ownership- impressions so far (Read 2127 times)
Pompeydave
Seaman Apprentice

I can't help
laughing, I know
what's coming next..

Portsmouth
1st season of TS240 ownership- impressions so far
09.10.2015 at 00:51:02

Hi all, well my first season as a TS240 owner is drawing to a close and it's been eventful. After a shocking first sail in Langstone where I was all over the place, I started to get to grips with sailing on the second trip and ventured out of Langstone on the third. I managed to go aground on the East Winner bank- my god has it increased in size since I was last out there? Anyway, got off ok with no damage and had a really good day overall. Went out again last Sunday in a F4-5, and the boat is quick but as I've never done sailing before feels a bit skittish, and I almost wonder if I would be better off with a slower heavier boat. I really don't feel comfortable when it heels well over in what feels like only a F4. I think I need to get to grips with reefing perhaps? In F2-3  it's a joy and zips along beatifully without heeling too much. Maybe I'm trying to run before I can walk? Anyway, got a keel problem now in that it won't pump up the last inch or so required to get the steel rod through to support it. I took the panelling off and the ram appears to be at it's fully inward position, so I don't know what the problem is, maybe a stone jammed in between the bulb and the hull. Either way, it's probably finished the season for me. I hope to get her out of the water and into the ECA for the winter to give her some much needed TLC! I also need to learn more about the mechanics of sailing as coming from a motorboating past I'm unhappy with the previously mentioned heeling  Shocked.

« Last Edit: 09.10.2015 at 00:52:38 by Pompeydave »  
  IP Logged
Paul
Very Old Salt

I Love YaBB 2!