Send Topic Print
Electronics upgrade (Read 1489 times)
Trevor Helps
Seaman Apprentice

Love the water !

Dorset
Electronics upgrade
09.01.2017 at 09:56:14

I'm a newbie and my 501's windex needed replacing at which point I began to consider upgrading the electronics generally, e.g. Clipper wireless speed/direction, new depth and navigation systems.

Just wondered if anyone had any thoughts/advice, particularly as to mounting an array of displays (maybe fanciful but it would be good to get something to 'clip' in place above the sliding hatch and unclip when not in use; spray hood is always UP) and the best/neatest way to get a 12v supply and socket to it. If this is a non-starter, would consider mounting left/right of companionway.

Thanks in advance for any guidance and any advice about gear to avoid!

IP Logged
Justin
Very Old Salt

Trapper 300 Bilge
Keel Owner

Bristol Channel
Re: Electronics upgrade
Reply #1 - 09.01.2017 at 12:53:18

Sorry but I've never really seen the point of wind instruments other than a hawk to tell you direction.  Sea state, heel and sail shape tells me what I need to know, although occasionally when flying the kite I've found that I hadn't quite noticed how much the wind had increased whilst I was surfing!  However I'm not sure instruments would have given me much more knowledge than simply looking at the sea and sky and boat speed.

So when I bought my Trapper 300 and the mast head part of the wind instruments were broken I simply stripped the lot out and haven't missed them at all.  I have NASA Duet, Garmin Chartplotter and a compass mounted in the cockpit which does everything I want between them.

The chartplotter is a luxury but I wouldn't do without it as it is so very reassuring after 40 odd years of doing it the old way.  I still use paper charts though for planning and passage records in case the plotter goes down.

IP Logged
Gary
Very Old Salt

I'd rather be on the
boat

Poole
Reply #2 - 11.01.2017 at 11:19:45

Hi Justin.