Welcome, Guest. Please Login
Trapper Owner Association
  News:
  HomeHelpSearchLogin  

Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Possibly very different keel hydraulics (Read 354 times)
Fredster
Boatswain Mate

Love the water !

Possibly very different keel hydraulics
12.04.2022 at 18:25:36

Now my attention is starting to come round to the keel hydraulics.
Something I have no experience with at all.
At the moment I see no raised locking mechanism to rake the strain off the piston and valves etc.
itís going to be different to what you all have as but I expect the principles are the same. In this setup the piston contracts to pull on a heavy steel cable running over a block (just under the cabin table) and down a stainless steel tube to the keel housing. There the strap must be attached to the keel. Itís attached very high up the keel but I have not seen where so I donít know the distance between the purchase point and the pivot point. I donít know the load values involved.
My questions I donít think can be answered but I hope that by asking I might learn enough to know how to proceed next.

How many pumps of the handle are needed to raise your keels?
What sort of maintenance is needed for the hydraulic system and how often?
Can the piston sit for extended time (weeks or months) in a loaded state?
What else do I need to figure out about such a system? Possibly, what questions do I need to ask a hydraulics expert?

And thanks for what input you have time for.
https://pin.it/4FqNwus
https://pin.it/PUC7W9G

IP Logged
Paul
Very Old Salt

I Love YaBB 2!

Re: Possibly very different keel hydraulics
Reply #1 - 12.04.2022 at 21:12:38

We all have a steel pin 15 to 18 mm which holds keel in raised position. Ours goes thro the central keel casing and a hole in the keel.

Any loss of hydraulic pressure allows pin to retain keel in up position.
Have you a hole in your plate case? It would seem logical.